Duchessdreams’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The slow return of normalacy June 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — duchessdreams @ 10:03 pm

So it was great having my Mum stay with us.  Really good to see her again but everytime someone stays for a long stretch of time I’m reminded why I don’t have roomates.  I’m around people pretty much all the time, but not people I can talk with for the most part, and my work is pretty much always chaos so by the time I get home I want quiet and organized.  Doesn’t work when there are other people in the house.  But still, it was really good to see my Mum.

The garden is doing well.  Spinach and lettuce and rocket and those cool weather plants have just been exploding with the raining coolness lately.  Some of the spinach leaves are as big as my head!  And tasty too ;).  The peppers, tomatoes, eggplants, and some of the warm loving plants are being so with the cool weather.  They’re mostly just pouting until they get some heat. 

I made the mistake of wandering at Moana nursery last weekend.  Well, I know I’d end up buying something.  Found stevia plants and catmint.   I’ve never started mint from seed before but I’ve been trying with the catmint for a couple of months now and no luck.  Unfortunately the neighborhood strays found one of the plants.  Mauled it pretty bad. I’m going to have to come up with a better plan until they’re bigger and established. 

Hopefully the strays wont be much of an issue for too much longer.  Matt and I are looking to get a dog!  Supper stoked.  Definitely going to adopt.  I really want a corgi but we’ll see who we meet and fall in love with =)

 

Leave a comment