Duchessdreams’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Busy work for a sick girl August 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — duchessdreams @ 5:56 pm

I knew it’s been coming.  I’ve been running like crazy at work for ages now and I knew I was going to get sick.  Oh well.  Had yesterday off but I’m back at it.  There are some days of the week that it just doesn’t work for me to be sick, so here I am. 

Work has been insane.  We have to take furlough days once a month for the next 6 months.  If we can’t get the new grants they’ll have to look at cutting jobs after that point.  I’m really keeping my fingers crossed but we’ve lost a lot of the state funding that supported us.  Programs have been cut all over the place.  The state institutions made insane promises to the legislators, now they want us to do much more with much less.  So life in a non profit just gets crazier.

On a good note.  Mufasa is doing really well.  His fur is starting to grow in again and he’s become a total lover boy.  My birthday was last month.  Had a lot of fun.  My sister took us out for a spa day.  Facials, manicures, pedicures, and a massage.  I think I’d go back for the facial and the pedicure but the rest of it was kind of blah.  I can do my own manicure faster and better.  And the massage was kind of strange.  Matt does a better one anyway :). 

The trees Matt and I planted this spring have grown so much.  They’re looking wonderful.  The newest tree I picked up, a contorted Filbert, needs to get in the ground.  It’s a good thing he has a year warranty because he was pretty scruffy when we got him and isn’t looking any better.   I’m thinking this next year and this fall I really need to focus on getting the garden beds and layout in.  I keep getting ahead of myself but, well that’s me.

 

2 Responses to “Busy work for a sick girl”

  1. Glad to hear you’re still there.

    I’ve had two furlough days so far. Classes have started up here at the Med School already. Next week for everyone else.

    Trying to sell my tickets to Chickenfoot for the Labor Day Weekend concert up at Tahoe, decided I wanted to go see Lewis Black instead.

    I LOVE Maria at Radiance Salon and Day Spa on B Street…she gives the most awesome massages ever. I’m puty when she’s done with me. And I love the pedicures at Safari Nails on Pyramid/McCarran…I’d pay for the massage chair while your tootsies are soaking! LOL!

  2. duchessdreams Says:

    I think my trouble with the massages is that Matt gives pretty killer massages so going to someone else is just odd for me.

    Good luck with all the students back. I just keep hoping that things will smooth out soon but who knows.

    🙂 Enjoy your concert.


Leave a comment