Duchessdreams’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Supper tasty summer squash August 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — duchessdreams @ 6:27 pm

Picked my first couple of yellow squash last night.  Gods they are so good.  Amazingly different from what you can buy.  So sweet and crisp and just awesome.  Tho the plants tried to catch my hands, I never noticed before just how prickly squash plants are.  So here’s what I did for dinner last night.  Totally Fabulous!

Yummy summer squash thing

Summer squash

Eggs

Half and Half

Parmesan cheese

Sour dough bread torn or cubed

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

Thin slice all of the squashes (I used yellow and a zucchini from my fridge).  Layer in a glass baking dish (I had 2 squash in a 9×9 pan) and lightly salt and pepper.  Cover the top with Parmesan cheese (you could put it between the layers also) Whip 4 or so eggs with some of the half and half, just make it nice and creamy.  Pour the egg mix onto veggies.  You want plenty of the egg but not to the point where the squash is swimming in it.  Toss the bread cubes in olive oil to coat.  Place on top and put into oven at 300 for about 30 min.  Once the eggs are set and squash is tender it’s done ( I turned up the heat on the last bit to brown the bread) 

Matt ate half the pan in no time flat:)

 

Leave a comment